• Vintage Hockey League
  • Day 90Game 473
    Boxscore 0 Likes
  • Day 90Game 471
    Rochester AMERICANS1
    Owen Sound ATTACK0
    Boxscore 0 Likes
  • Day 92Game 483
    Owen Sound ATTACK3
    Manitoba MOOSE2
    Boxscore 0 Likes
  • Day 94Game 493
    Owen Sound ATTACK0
    Salt Lake GOLDEN EAGLES0
    Preview 0 Likes
  • Day 96Game 506
    Owen Sound ATTACK0
    Indianapolis ICE0
    Preview 0 Likes
  • Day 98Game 514
    Oshawa GENERALS
    Owen Sound ATTACK
    Preview 0 Likes

s23 - Hardware headed out in Vegas [WB13]


Vegas, NV - The playoffs are well underway but before they kicked off the Vegas Golden Knights and their affiliate Owen Sound Attack handed out their yearly team awards.

Golden Knights netminder Marc-Andre Fleury won a duo of awards, most importantly the clubs regular season Most Valuable Player and obviously Top Goalie. The portal won’t allow the club to show Fleury as the MVP winner however, so it shows Maxim Lapierrie. We’ll get to him in a second but Fleury went 38-19-4 posting a stellar .926 save percentage and a 2.44 goals against average. 

“Perhaps my best transaction I’ve made since Vegas handed me the keys eight seasons ago,” General Manager David Zammit said.

Back to Lapierrie who had a break out season to pick up the Top Point Scorer and if it weren’t for Fleury he’d be the MVP too.

Third-year pro Alex Pietrangelo won the Top Defenceman award for a second straight year as he continues to become a star.

Forward Shawn Matthias scored 10 goals and 12 assists to earn him the teams Rookie of the Year.

Winger Drew Stafford won his second Goal Scorer Award, netting 35 goals.

A player Vegas acquired to play the fourth line centre gig and the top penalty killing unit in Thomas Fleischmann was given the Top Defensive Forward award.

Not really sure what this award is for but I give it to a veteran each year, it’s called, Qualities of Perseverance and Sportsmanship. This go around it went to defenceman Eric Brewer.

And last but not least, centreman Henrik Sedin reeled in the Player who Displays Gentlemanly Conduct.

Meanwhile in the AHL forward Patrik Berglund double dipped winning MVP and Top Scorer.

Top Goalie went to Mike Smith for the second year in a row.

Top Defenceman was Tomas Mojzis.

Budding young defenceman Dougie Hamilton won Rookie of the Year.

For the second time in as many years forward Nikolai Kulemin earned the Top Goal Scorer.

New forward Niclas Bergfors won Top Defensive Forward award.

Ten year Attack vet Pierre Hedin won Qualities of Perseverance and Sportsmanship.

And defenceman Dan Boyle won Player who Displays Gentlemanly Conduct.

WC - 360